Daily Post idea…

Describe the wackiest but most useful advice you’ve ever received.

I’m going to modify this a bit and write about the most useful advice I’ve received: “Stop worrying about what other people think”.  I can’t remember who I got it from – probably because it’s come from a number of different sources.  You see I’m one of those people who care way too much what other people think or I worry about what they might think if I do or say something.  So instead of doing things I would like to do I either defer to someone else’s wishes or I just don’t do anything.  I’ve become very aware of this tendancy lately, I’ve actually caught myself in the act.  Maybe that’s a good thing, because I’ve been able to ‘throw caution to the wind’ and make my ideas or wishes known and what do you know…nobody thought poorly of me.

My husband is the exact opposite; he makes his wishes known all the time and he doesn’t care what anybody thinks about it.  He goes a little bit too far in the opposite direction which may be why I’ve struggled with this…I don’t want to go that far.  I also think I may be trying to compensate for him; since he’s way out there, I’m ultra conservative.  Crazy! 

So I’m going to make a committment to communicate my ideas, wants and dreams more often and try not to let my fear of what others will think stop me.   ttfn

Leave a Reply

