Running a 5K

Yesterday I ran my first 5K of this year (this is only my 6th 5K overall) and although it felt good to get out and compete again…I was not very competitive. I’ve let my training slide a bit over the winter and I could tell when I started the race. My legs felt very heavy from the beginning and with the finish line in sight I was worried my legs were going to give out completely, luckily they did not. My finish time was 36:44, not the 33 minute range I was shooting for so I’ve got lots of training to do before my next run in April. Also, I had to stop and walk twice during the race, that’s the first time I’ve had to do that in a 5K. I did stop and walk during the 8K turkey trot on the Thanksgiving but I could reason with that since the distance was longer. Needless to say I’m a bit disappointed but that’s ok, no where to go but up from here!

Leave a Reply

