Turning 50 was a real eye-opener

Yesterday was my 50th birthday and I have to say I was pretty disappointed.  Now I’m not all hung up on getting older and all that, what really disappointed me was that no one else thought enough of me to acknowledge the day.  My husband asked me months ago if I wanted a party and I said no, because I really didn’t want one.  I feel like big parties make people feel obligated to come and acknowledge the event.  I wanted to see who would acknowledge it if they weren’t obligated…and boy did I get a rude awakening.  The people I was sure would do something, didn’t.  I wasn’t expecting anything monumental…geez just a fricking phone call would’ve been nice, but even my own family didn’t call!!!  So sad.  There are others that I thought I was close enough to get a call from…but nothing.  I received a gift in the mail last week from an old friend that I’ve fallen out of close contact with and I did get a call last night from a friend that I used to work with.  Other than that I got a mess of cards in the mail (which happens on any birthday – I was hoping for a little more for my 50).  My father-in-law made the most effort, he stopped by the house with my card and when I wasn’t home he tried to call me 3 times on my cell – what a sweetie.

So now I need to figure out what I’m going to do with this priceless information…after I get over the immense disappointment and sadness that I really don’t matter that much to these other people.  I’ve wasted countless years caring what other people think only to finally realize THEY don’t care at all.

Leave a Reply

