NaNoWriMo…?

Ever heard of National Novel Writing Month?  I hadn’t either until I read “The Happiness Project”.  Gretchen Rubin talks about the book “No Plot? No Problem!” which got me thinking that maybe I should try my hand at writing.  When I was a pre-teen I used to sit in my room for hours writing short stories (mostly scenes for the Starsky & Hutch show!).  So I’ve read the book and now I’m deciding which month I want to choose to do it.  They suggest November but I don’t agree, the end of November starts the holiday season, plus we’re going to be traveling at the end of that month.  So I’m leaning towards Sept or Oct – I’ve asked one of my neighbors if he’d like to participate by doing this at the same time with me.  He’s already had a book published so he may not be interested but, who knows, maybe he’ll see it as a way to get his next book started.

Has anyone else already done this project?  Any words of wisdom you’d care to share?

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo…?

  1. Piece of advice I recommended to all my friends – get a good head start. You really feel the momentum carry over later in the month. Plus, it gives you cushion room for when you can’t write.

    Also, do your best to not delete words. Remember that editing comes at a later time.

    Don’t expect your 50,000 novella to be publishable right off the bat.

    Most of all – have fun! If you’re not enjoying it, you will not hit 50,000 (and trust me, that’s happened to me before).

    Like

Leave a Reply

