All over the place

I’ve become a bit scattered lately…there are so many things I want to focus on (husband, home, knitting, exercise, spirituality, work, and the list goes on…) but I find that I haven’t given any of them my complete attention.  If I make a decision to pick one and focus on it my mind drifts to one of the other areas and I second guess what I should be focusing on…it’s mind-numbing.

Is this just a phase I’m going through (I’m 51 so could it be menopause?) or is this what I have to look forward to for the rest of my life?  I’ve tried to ‘surf the net’ to find some answers but I haven’t found anything that really addresses this topic (or maybe I’m not using the right search terms).  I don’t usually put posts out here about this stuff but I’m feeling quite frustrated so I thought I’d reach out for some opinions.  Thanks for listening!

2 thoughts on “All over the place

  1. 52 this year and I hear you. For me it’s two girls in high school, one getting ready to graduate, college worries, extra curricular activities, 2 dogs, husband, health issues(from getting older), and wanting to knit everything. When my girls were little their futures were finite and basic. Now with a HS senior, our worries are magnified. I can’t say it’s a phase that will end, since I am still in the middle of it! But I am sure it is a phase. Each day in our lives we are hit with the externals, sometimes those externals are greater, sometimes they are smaller. It just may be at this point, your externals are looming large, and with internal changes, your mind is fractured trying to contain them all. I am trying to take it one day at a time, but that’s not always possible, so I focus on the need at hand. Hope your situation reveals itself to you, or wanes in intensity.

    Like

    1. Chris, thank you for letting me know I’m not alone…and I hope things get better for you too. The ‘one day at a time’ approach is great advice and I think I’ve been doing that without really knowing it. I tell myself that I can only focus on today and try to do the best I can. I just hope this ‘phase’ doesn’t last too long! Best wishes to you 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

