Distance vs Timed

I’m repeating week 4 of the C25K program because I was not able to complete all the run segments in days 1 & 2 but I thought I’d try something a little different.  I switched the app to calculate the segments based on Distance rather than the normal Timed segments.  Instead of running 3 mins, walking 1:30, run 5 mins, walk 2:30 and repeat – this morning it was run 1/4 mile, walk 1/8 mile, run 1/2 mile, walk 1/4 mile and repeat.  This made a big difference for me because in the timed segments I was not actually covering the same amount of distance so this morning I actually ran for longer intervals!  As you can see by my times below I started out pretty strong covering the first 1/4 mile in less than 3 mins and the first 1/2 in almost exactly 5 mins; looks like I need to pick up the pace on the walking intervals.  The second 1/4 mile was even faster than the first one but that last 1/2 mile was a bit of a bugger!  That doesn’t matter…I’m just glad I was able to complete all of the running segments!! Yay!!  I’ll continue on Tuesday with Day 2 and then I’m going to run a 5K Friday night (the Electric Run – sounds like so much fun) which will be my equivalent for Day 3.

7.20.13 c25k

A little off topic: I’ve started reading “Stop Saying You’re Fine” by Mel Robbins.  She says that our own brains sabotage our efforts to do better and be better and she has the answer to turn that around.  I’m in Chapter 5 (of 11) and I really like her style…she’s straight forward and tells it like it is.  So far she makes sense, I’ll keep you posted as I continue reading.

stop saying you're fine

Leave a Reply

