Electric Run – Charlotte

Well, I did it!  I completed the Electric Run 5K in under 40 minutes which was my goal…but first let me tell you about the run itself.  It was quite a spectacle, from people wearing all kinds of glow-in-the-dark clothing to face and body paint and beyond.  I would have to agree with the promoters, it was a pretty happy place to be.  The weather turned out to be great, low 80’s and low humidity which made it all that more enjoyable.  As the crowd of thousands filled the starting chute they sectioned us off into waves so that everyone wasn’t starting at the same time – oh and by the way, this was not a timed race.  I was in the second wave and when they let us go it was pretty slow going at first, as you can imagine a few hundred people at the same time might be.  After a few minutes I was able to make my way around the walkers and fall in to a relatively slow pace.  I’m not sure exactly how long my first run interval was but I know it was close to 3/4 mile (!) because during my first walking interval I passed the 3/4 mi mark.  After that I have no idea how long my runs were because I just kept going for as long as I could and then I would walk for a little bit…rinse and repeat.

The course was pretty cool; there was high tempo music piped all along the route and several visual displays of lights and decorations.  The course was mapped in and around the speedway in Charlotte and on the last 1/4 mile we actually ran over the ‘finish line’ on the track.  It would’ve been even cooler if that was the finish for the 5K but I don’t think the track would allow them to have the after-party there.

I used ‘mapmyrun’ to keep track of my run and it appears the course they created was a little further than 5K because I started the app as I crossed the Start Line and stopped it right after the Finish Line.  The good news is I definitely finished the traditional 3.1 miles in under 40 minutes…Yay me!!  I will say that my hips and feet are feeling a little stiff and achy this morning but nothing that a day off shouldn’t cure.

I would recommend the Electric Run if you want to just ‘have fun’ and are not serious about your finishing time.  We didn’t stay for the after party as we were already 1.5 hours from home and we didn’t get a chance to eat dinner before the race (that’s a whole other story!).

7.26.13 Electric Run

electric run

9 thoughts on “Electric Run – Charlotte

    1. Thanks…I actually ended up taking a few days off…my hips have been really sore and crampy – I have no idea what that’s all about. I make sure I stretch after every workout..Oh well, I’ll be back at it tomorrow no matter what.

      Like

  1. This looks so fun! I gather that this is your seventh 5K? Congratulations to you on getting out there and making it happen — I still don’t feel ready to enter a race yet, however informal!

    Like

    1. It was a pretty cool run with all the lights and music…it definitely made the miles go by faster! This is actually my first 5K since getting back into running. I ran several 5k’s about two years ago and then slowly stopped running (stupid!). My goal is to be able to ‘run’ the whole 5k again; I’ll be starting week 5 (of c25k) tomorrow.

      Don’t put off signing up for a 5K, there are always plenty of walkers and folks who alternate between walking and running. It’s a great motivator to be out there with everyone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

