Week 5, Day 2 & 3

I went out of town last Thursday and I didn’t get a chance to post updates on my last two runs so I’m going to double up in this post.

Thursday, 8/1 was Week 5 Day 2.  I got up early and completed the workout before we got in the car to drive for 4 hours.  The first 8 min segment was not so bad but the second segment kicked my fanny…as you can see by my pace I had to stop and walk twice but only for about 30 seconds.  I made up for it by running during the cool down segment.

8.1.13 c25k

Saturday, 8/3 was the dreaded Week 5 Day 3, 20 minute run!  I was in Myrtle Beach and it was HOT and HUMID…I thought I was going to melt right into the pavement at 8 in the morning!  The only upside was the route was pretty flat (gotta find that silver lining!).  The first 10 mins wasn’t too bad once I fell into a rhythm but I could feel my legs getting wobbly around 12 mins so I stopped to walk a little.  I started running again as soon as I felt strong enough and went for about another 5 mins and had to walk again for about 30 seconds and then I finished out the rest of the run.  Unfortunately I didn’t map my route well enough and I ended up about 1/2 mile from ‘home’ so I got in a little more exercise than I planned for in that heat.

8.3.13 c25k

I’ve decided that I’m going to do Week 5 again and this time I’ll switch the plan to Distance instead of Timed.  I want to be able to run all the segments before moving on to the next week in the program.

4 thoughts on “Week 5, Day 2 & 3

    1. Your comment comes at just the right time…I slept through my alarm this morning and didn’t run today like I planned (!). I was just going to skip it today until I read this – now I’ll make sure to get out there this evening and get my run in today. Thanks for the ‘push’!!

      Like

      1. Oh, good! I confess I couldn’t hack the 4:20 wake up call this morning. That’s why I was catching up on some posts from others to help get me on track. Now we’ll both be running tonight!

        Like

Leave a Reply

