Week 5 Day 2 – tough

I’m still hanging in trying to complete the C25K program. I’ve had a couple of restarts and repeated weeks 4 & 5 but I’m not giving up! This morning was perfect for a run: 68 degrees, breezy and overcast. It felt just slightly chilly when I started but it didn’t take long for that feeling to go away! Today’s workout called for two 3/4 mile runs with a 1/2 mile walk in the middle.

By the end of the first run segment I was SO ready for the walk and then I started dreading the second run…was I going to be able to go the whole distance? I quickly realized that kind of thinking wasn’t going to help me so I kicked those negative thoughts out of my head and focused on the fact that I had just completed 3/4 mile so there’s no reason I couldn’t do it again…I kept repeating that to myself. The last run segment began and I felt good – and as luck would have it my route was pretty flat! The voice came on to tell me I had less than 1/2 mile to go so I started calculating where that would put me so I could visualize finishing strong…I completed the whole running segment but I seriously thought I was going to ‘give up’ several times.  I finally pulled out my phone to see how much further I had to go and thankfully it said 2 tenths so I knew I could hold on for that.

Whew!  That was a tough one but I feel so much better for having completed it!  Now I can start dreading W5D3 – the 2 mile run!! 

8.17.13 c25k

BTW, I think I’ve figured out what’s causing the pain in my feet – going barefoot.  I’ve noticed that my feet don’t hurt while I’m running or as long as I’m wearing shoes, but we don’t wear shoes in the house and by late in the day I can feel the foot pain creeping in.  I’ve been wearing shoes in the house the last two days and voila, no pain!  Kind of strange since I’ve been going barefoot for years, but I guess things change as I get older 😦

One thought on “Week 5 Day 2 – tough

Leave a Reply

