Back on the wagon…

As I committed to yesterday, I went out this morning and completed C25K Week 5, Day 1.  The program calls for WU, Run 1/2 mi, Walk 1/4 mi (repeat twice), CD.  I was a bit apprehensive that I would be able to run for 1/2 mile three times and I was worried that I’d be ‘sucking wind’ during the running portions.

I set out with high hopes and completed the first run segment with very little issues, even my breathing was not too labored.  The second run segment felt like it passed fairly quickly and I had to check my phone to make sure I had in fact run 1/2 mi.  The last run segment was a little more difficult as the route I was following was a slow, steady incline at this point.  I could tell that my pace was slower than the first two segments but I was able to finish that last run segment without stopping…woohoo!

So although this was no PB, I’m very happy with the outcome and feel better that ‘all is not lost’!

2.22.14

I plan to repeat this workout one more time before increasing the running portions and the overall distance.  I have four weeks to get ready for the RFG 10K, I feel better that I’ll be able to participate but I’m not holding out any hope that I’ll be ‘running’ the whole course.

2 thoughts on “Back on the wagon…

Leave a Reply

