RFG Week 9

Only four weeks until our RFG 10K race on April 12th and I’m feeling pretty good about my chances of running most of it…and who knows, if I feel really good that morning I may be able to run the whole thing.  But I better not get ahead of myself!

Tonight’s prescribed run was 3 miles and although the weather (41 and breezy with a chance of rain) made me want to jump under the covers and not come out, I donned my running gear and headed off to the group meeting at the church.  The group was thin tonight so I toyed with the idea of skipping the run after the meeting but one of the other members asked if I would run with her and I just couldn’t say no.  She typically runs in the 11min/mile range so I knew I wouldn’t be able to keep up with her but she said that that wouldn’t matter, she just wanted to get a run in tonight and didn’t want to do it alone.

After a 5 min warm-up we were off, we headed out for 1.5 in one direction then turned around and came back.  As expected she was out in front of me but close enough that we were still within ear shot.  She would stop at the crosswalks and wait for me and then start running again.  She slowed her pace so we could finish the last half mile together.  I can honestly say that if she hadn’t asked me to run with her I would not have gotten my run in tonight so for that I am grateful!  I also kept my pace kind of even, probably because I didn’t want to fall too far back from her.  I am impressed that I was faster in the second mile than the first, usually my times just get worse throughout the workout.  We’ll see if I can keep this up.

3.18.14

One thought on “RFG Week 9

Leave a Reply

