Am I getting faster?

As I mentioned in my last post, I’m starting over with the 10K training program and today is my second workout.  The program called for a 2 mile feel good run, which means no need to push for any tempo or PR.  My goal again was to run for longer intervals and try not to slow down for walk breaks.  I didn’t get to run today until after dinner so I was a little apprehensive that I might have problems since it was late in the day and I was tired from working.  I stepped out the door just before 7 and after a short warm up walk I was on my way.  I had set my app for 4x .5 mile intervals to keep an eye on my pace and to get regular updates on distance.

The first two intervals seemed to go by pretty quickly probably because the elevation was mostly flat or a slight decline.  I turned around at the end of the street which means I had to go back up that incline.  Now, I’m not so good on hills – it doesn’t matter how big or small – but I was determined to keep running even if it was really, really slow.  I completed the third interval and then slowed for a short walk break.  My legs felt a little tired but I finished out the last interval running.  I was quite pleased to see my interval times/pace when I got home.  Wow, the first two intervals were at a pace I haven’t seen in over 2 years!! Although the last interval was the slowest, because of the walk break, my overall pace was still below 12:00.  I hope I can keep up this new pace as I start increasing the distance!

4.17.14

One thought on “Am I getting faster?

Leave a Reply

