Catching up

We’ve had friends visiting for a few days so I’m a little behind on posting my workouts, but I’m happy to say that I still did my workouts 🙂

The RFG 10K program called for 2 miles on Thursday so I got up early to get it in before everyone else was raring to go.  I tried to pace myself so I could maintain the same pace for the entire distance – except for a short walk break in the third interval I think I did pretty good.  Overall, my average pace was 11:29…not too shabby!

4.25.14

My next run was supposed to be Saturday but we spent a lot of time walking around on Friday so I pushed the next workout – 3.5 miles to this morning.  I wish I was able to get out a little earlier but we had to take our friends to the airport at 8am so I didn’t get out for my run until 9:30am.  The temperatures were a little warmer but the hardest part was the full sun – ugh – I wasn’t ready for that and it really affected my ability to run for longer intervals.

I started out pretty strong and was able to run for 1.25 before I needed to slow for a walk break.  I was getting a little overheated and tried to stay in the shade as much as possible.  I ran for another .5 mile and needed to slow again; it was at that point that I reminded myself this was supposed to be the long, slow, run day so I decided that I shouldn’t push it too hard.  I needed to slow for several more walk breaks before I finished but I just kept telling myself: even a bad run is better than no run 😉

4.27.14

Leave a Reply

