5 miles – check!

The 10K training program I’m following called for 4.5  mile long, slow run yesterday.  I had a ‘run date’ with two ladies from the RFG group and they planned to run 5 miles, so I did too!

It was a great morning to run, mid 60’s and low humidity however most of the route was in full sun which made it feel much warmer.  As we started the run I tried to pace myself better at the beginning so I wouldn’t feel so ’empty’ at the end.  I had plans to run the first two miles without walking but I didn’t quite make it, I slowed for a walk around 1.8.  I slowed for another walk shortly after the halfway mark, around 2.75.  Once we got past mile 3, then came the hills – ugh!  I kept telling myself that I really need to do some hills training so it isn’t this difficult to keep going, thankfully having running partners pushed me but I still had to take few more walk breaks before we were finished.  I did feel better at the end – not so exhausted – so I must be getting better!

I’m still trying to figure out how to train so I can maintain a similar pace from beginning to end…any suggestions would be greatly appreciated  🙂

5.24.14

 

I’m looking at running my next 10K on July 4th…maybe I can get my ‘run dates’ to join me!

3 thoughts on “5 miles – check!

  1. Nice work Sharon! Keeping a steady pace is tricky, especially with hills. What I do, is look at my average pace for my previous run (including any walk breaks) and then try to run consistently at that pace without any walk breaks. I use my Garmin to make sure I don’t go out too fast. Then, for the final stretch, if I can, I’ll push a bit harder to try to bring the average pace down from last time. Hope that helps. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks! That’s a good suggestion and I’ve been wanting to get a Garmin so this gives me an extra reason 😉 Right now, I’m just using the app on my phone which gives me updates at the intervals I set but it really isn’t optimal.

      Like

      1. The Garmin would be a good investment at this stage as you can check your pace whenever you like, rather than at the end of each interval. Go on, treat yourself – you’ve earned it! 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

