3 mile FGR

Today’s session called for a 3 mile ‘feel good run’, essentially run at any pace that feels good.  I wanted to get out the door before 7am but I just couldn’t seem to get my rear in gear.  I managed to hit the streets just before 7:30 but the heat had already started building up.  It was 75 degrees so thankfully a good bit of my route was in the shade.  I didn’t have any goal as far as pace today, just complete the 3 miles.  I set my app for updates every .5 mile (Garmin Forerunner 110 should be here tomorrow!) and went on my way.

I decided today that I would distract myself mentally by taking a little trip to Aruba.  We’ve vacationed in Aruba over a dozen times so I had no problem visualizing it.  I pictured talking a long walk along a familiar route and in what felt like almost no time I heard the update that I was at the half-way point!  Wow!  I mentally turned around and started visualizing walking back along the same route.  I did take a few walk breaks around 1.75 and 2.25 but I really felt pretty good overall.  This visualizing thing seems to be working out pretty well!

As for my pace…ahem, I guess visualizing slows me down a little – lol.  Or maybe it was the heat?  Either way, I ‘felt good’ about my run and that was my goal today 🙂

6.5.14

3 thoughts on “3 mile FGR

  1. Sounds like a perfect ‘feel good run’ to me – and visualising Aruba sounds a lot more fun than visualising shopping lists.
    Very excited about your new Garmin too. Does that mean you’re going to have to run again tomorrow? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

