Missing my running buddies

It’s been a little difficult over the holiday to get connected with all my running buddies; either they’ve got something going on or they’re out of town. Today was no different, K & L are both out of town so I connected with S late yesterday to plan a run for today – thank goodness she agreed!

We met up at the local church at 9:30am, the temps were in the mid 40’s with plenty of sunshine and since we planned to put in 5 miles I knew it would be in the 50’s by the time we finished. I had my Garmin and the C25K app working today however I forgot to start my Garmin until a few minutes into the run (lol, one of these days I’ll get it right!). I set the C25K app for 5:30/1:00 run/walk with the hopes of increasing my pace during the run sections to improve my overall pace.

It was still a bit nippy as we started out because the route we chose was on the shady side of the street so we crossed over to run in the sun; within the first mile I had to take off my gloves. Miles 2, 3 and 4 were pretty uneventful and seemed to pass pretty quickly. During the last mile it was getting pretty warm; I had on a black running jacket with black leggings and I toyed with the idea of taking off the jacket but I was pretty sweaty and feared I would get too cold. I opted for unzipping it and just letting it fly open as I ran (ha, that makes it sound like I was running really fast – NOT!).

The last 1/2 mile included a pretty steep incline which I was afraid was going to ruin my pace so I deliberately started swinging my arms pretty swiftly and it really seemed to help. I stopped the app at 5 miles and was happy to see that my overall pace improved from my last few runs!!

12.27.14 pt2

12.27.14

One thought on “Missing my running buddies

Leave a Reply

