2014 running recap…2015 goals

2015 is still a few hours away in South Carolina so I thought it would be a good time to recap my running exploits this year.

I tallied up all the mileage I ran this year, including training, races and treadmill runs {{drum roll please}} I ran just over 385 miles – say what?? I didn’t start this year with any specific mileage goal, in fact I really didn’t have any real running goals at all so I’m quite surprised that I covered that many miles.

I ran a 5K with the Run For God group in December 2013 and shortly after they announced the next RFG program was 10K or Half Marathon…after hemming and hawing I agreed to join for the 10K. We spent the winter months training for that race in April. I really enjoyed running with the girls from that group and when they asked me to join them for the Myrtle Beach Half Marathon I laughed…seriously? Me run a Half? Well, I’m not sure if it was peer pressure or some secret desire of my own but I finally agreed to join them. Thus we spent the summer training for that race in October. Since that race I’ve been running a couple of times a week, including weekend runs with my ‘running buddies’ just to maintain my progress.

The girls have signed up for a 15K in January in Atlanta Hot Chocolate Run (sounds delicious!) and I’m going to join them. We’ve also signed up for the SuperBowl 4 miler in Charlotte on Feb 1st. Other than that, I have no races or goals for 2015.

I’m very pleased with the progress I’ve made this year. I want to lose weight and get a little faster in 2015 so I guess I better get to setting some goals!!

Happy New Year!! I wish everyone a blessed, healthy and happy 2015!!

One thought on “2014 running recap…2015 goals

Leave a Reply

