Progress and new fabrics

I’m making progress on the Crossword Puzzle quilt…I better be! I’ve got to have it done by Wed so I can take it with us to Maryland on Thursday.

I finished quilting it tonight, whew! I did a simple ‘stitch in the ditch’ on all the rows and columns and then outlined the border. Quilting a blanket this size it a lot of work – I never realized it. The only experience I’ve had quilting was on the baby quilt I finished last week and although that was a little cumbersome it was nothing compared to this quilt. It felt like I was wrestling an octopus…LOL! I can’t even imagine trying to do something more elaborate – egads.

Crossword quilted

Crossword closeup quilted

Now I just need to square it up and apply the binding. I was originally going to bind with the same fabric as the backing but I misjudged how much I needed so it was back to Hobby Lobby earlier today where I bought some solid black fabric. Of course while I was there I had to check out the clearance & remnants racks and just couldn’t pass up getting a few things 😉

A christmas plaid and a spring green
I got a yard each of these @ $3.00/yd
These two are remnant pieces that are just a little larger than fat quarters
These two are remnant pieces that are just a little larger than fat quarters. The baby animals was $2.70 and the cosmic print was $3.00

I also got 2 yards of Kona Black for $10.79 – regularly $8.99/yard but I used a 40% off coupon.

I had to stop for the night because my eyes and back were so tired. I plan to get up early in the morning and finish up the quilt before lunch – fingers crossed!

2 thoughts on “Progress and new fabrics

Leave a Reply

