Quilting done…on to Binding

I stopped while I was quilting last night to grab a picture. I’ve been meaning to mention how much I’m LOVING my walking foot – it has made all the difference when quilting to keep my fabric from puckering. Wow, something so small can have a huge impact!!

Walking foot

You can see in the picture that I’ve marked my quilting with pencil lines – no worries it’s water soluble so it’ll come out in the wash; actually some of the first lines I marked are barely noticeable now. I used the blue Clover Water Soluble Pencil.

Clover pencils

I finished up the quilting this morning by adding a few rounds of framing stitches on the tangerine border. Next, I laid it out on the floor and squared it up to so it’s ready for binding.

Top from above

Here’s a better shot of the quilting – simple straight lines mimicking the center diamonds, which created their own diamond pattern…pretty cool!

Quilting

I plan to use the same fabric as the back for binding which will create a contrast on the front but will blend in on the back.

Backing fabric

This is the part I love the most…Binding…it means I’m almost done! I’ll machine bind this quilt; I’ve tried hand binding (once) and didn’t really love it so I’ll stick with the machine. This time I’m going to try stitching the binding through the top – check out this post for a better explanation. Since the binding matches the backing fabric it’ll be a bit more forgiving if I should mess up :-/

It’s been raining all morning and it’s supposed to keep doing that for the rest of the day…so I guess there’s nothing else to do but stay in my sewing room! 🙂

ttfn…

7 thoughts on “Quilting done…on to Binding

  1. This looks so pretty, and your quilting is great – simple but very effective. I yearn for a walking foot – sadly my Elna SU is of a vintage when they didn’t have walking foots (feet??). Not that it doesn’t still perform very well, it does – but I still yearn for a walking foot … 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you! I’ve come to really rely on my walking foot! I have a very old Singer Stylist (40+ years old) and I was able to find a universal walking foot that fits.
      I’m sure you’ve already tried to Google it but just in case you haven’t, I found this link that might have what you need…?? It says it fits Elna SU…Hope it helps 🙂
      http://www.sewingpartsonline.com/brother-walking-foot-low-center-jap-10449-j.aspx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooooh! Thank you so much for that link, I’m really excited to think that I might be able to get one to fit my Elna! I shall contact Brother dealers here in NZ first to see if any of them have it, and if not I’ll follow up through your link. I’ll let you know how I get on, and thank you again! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thanks to your pointing me in the right direction, I have now located an outlet in NZ which has a suitable universal walking foot on its website. Although they’re presently out of stock, they have offered to order one in for me, and it should be here in about 2 weeks 🙂 Gold star for you, my friend, and thank you again!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

