Running and sewing

Running and sewing seem to be the two main themes in my life right now. I’m getting close to my next big run (I don’t call them races because I don’t ‘race’!), it’s a half marathon in Sunset Beach, NC on May 16. This will be my second Half and unless I let myself get talked into it again, it will be my last. I’m really not a fan of running more than 6 miles so I think I’ll stick to 10Ks in the future.

I ordered a variety pack of GU Energy gels so I tried out a few new flavors yesterday – I had Vanilla Bean before my run which tastes a lot like cake frosting, not great but not bad either. I had Salted Caramel during the run…so far that’s my favorite, but I’m a sucker for anything caramel! I also tried out compression calf sleeves to see if it would help during and/or after the run. Jury is still out because I really didn’t feel anything different. I’ll give them another chance tomorrow – if I don’t notice any difference they’re going back.

I had planned to get in 5 miles yesterday morning but I had a hard time falling asleep the night before and got up late…so I decided I would hit the pavement after work. Not a real good idea as the temps have started climbing here in the Carolinas; it was 81 degrees when I left the house – ugh – but at least there was very little humidity πŸ˜‰ The heat got to me around 3.5 miles and I just had to call it quits at 4. Hopefully tomorrow morning will be better.

GARMIN

5.5.15 garmin

C25K app

5.5.15 c25k app

SEWING

I started a new project over the weekend – I had already cut and sewed HST units a few weeks ago so I pieced them into a top approx 32×48. I wanted to finish it with a flannel backing using a pillow case technique (sew the right sides together leaving an opening and then turn it right side out). I finished that up tonight and now I’m toying with the idea of doing a few quilting lines following the diagonal pattern on the front…what do you think? Have you made a blanket like this and have you quilted it after you’ve sewn it together? I’d appreciate any feedback.

The front is made from a variety of fat quarters I received in the April shipment which was color themed Yellow. The backing is a teal flannel I picked up at Hobby Lobby. I threw in the multi-color chevron for a little contrast.

IMG_2241

IMG_2243

I still need to get more batting so I can finish the yellow & black lap quilt from theΒ β€œQuilt-Along-With-Me” I’ve been following. The good news is I have next week off work so I hope to be able to spend time sewing…the only problem is we have friends planning to visit which could interfere with my sewing time…I’m so torn…

That’s all for now…

G’night!

3 thoughts on “Running and sewing

  1. Where do you find the time to fit it all in? I’m really impressed with your sewing and how great all of your projects turn out – I can barely sew a button on and have even been known to hem my trousers with Sellotape (wonder web works better!). πŸ˜‰
    Sounds like you’re on track for your half marathon next weekend too, and the salted caramel gels sound great! Fingers crossed for a bit of cloud cover and a nice cool breeze, and I’m sure you’ll smash it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Kirsten…I must admit I’ve been bit by the quilting bug! I really love how it all comes together. I did a 10 mile run yesterday and the last three miles were pretty rough. I was in full sun and kept getting over heated…but…I finished it πŸ™‚ I’m just hoping for a cloudy morning next weekend πŸ˜‰

      Like

Leave a Reply

