Same focus, different day

My focus continues on running and sewing…I took a little break from the baby quilt I’m making and whipped up another 1 hour basket – I think I’m procrastinating the applique step for the letters and flowers!

First up, I got in a 3 mile run yesterday – oh man, it was a soupy, humid, overcast morning but I didn’t let that stop me. I got out the door at 7:30, a little earlier than I had been, and I was able to finish just as the sun was popping through the clouds. I’ve stopped using the C25K app for GPS tracking and only using it for the 3:1 interval cues (it’s been taking forever to find a satellite and it keeps adding extra tenths to my distance); I have my Garmin for distance and time tracking.

I had a banana and a GU packet before I left the house, figured I would need a little extra energy with the mucky weather. I started the 165bpm music, the Garmin and the app…and away I went. The first two miles weren’t too awful, in fact I was able to keep with the 3:1 intervals pretty closely. The last mile was a bit tougher – I was close to the house and thought about just ending the run at two miles…but I told myself that I could finish 3 miles even if I had to walk the last one. I finished it using 2:2 intervals…so not too bad.

6.9.15 garmin

This is actually my best overall time for 3 miles since January…WIN!

~~~

Now on to sewing – I did finally iron the letters and flowers to the baby quilt, it doesn’t look like there is much difference but trust me they are ironed on!

IMG_2360

Now the next (daunting) step is to applique them on. I’ve decided to use my machine to do the stitching so I whipped up a ‘test’ piece last night just to see how I would do…um, I think I need a little more practice. I didn’t take a picture of the test piece but it wasn’t a total fail…just not as pretty as I’d like so I think I’ll do some more testing tonight. The problem is my machine is pretty old and the only speed control I have is the foot pedal (or manually turning the wheel). It’s ok when I’m on a straight section but when I need to do just a few stitches it’s hard to not go too far on the pedal. Practice will help.

While I was stewing about the applique I decided to make another 1 hour basket. This time it did only take about an hour…woohoo! I pulled out some animal prints & the In-R-Form plus and away I went. I remembered almost the whole pattern but double checked myself so I would make the right size this time!

Measures 9" wide x 7" tall
Measures 9″ wide x 7″ tall

Inside tiger print

Stuffed full of fabric goodies
Stuffed full of fabric goodies

I think I actually like the first basket better…it was about 1/2″ shorter in height and seems to be a better size for all the fat quarters I have. I guess I’ll just have to make another one that size to make a final decision 😉

ttfn…

One thought on “Same focus, different day

  1. Great run, Sharon! Adjusting the intervals is definitely a good idea on the heat and humidity.
    I can’t believe that basket only took you 1 hour to make! That’s amazing and it looks fantastic – Eye of The Tiger? 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

