Beating the heat

This weekend we’ve experienced pretty high temps – 94 & 96 with lots of humidity in the mornings. I went to church this morning and to the grocery store after lunch but then decided it was best to just stay indoors…so, I went to my sewing room and started working on a few projects.

A couple of months ago, I bought a whole bag of zippers from a FB quilting community and they’ve just been sitting there – staring at me, LOL. Bag of Zippers

I decided to pull up one of Jenny Doan’s tutorials and make a few zippered pouches. I actually started making them yesterday and have four completed so far. I’ve used scraps to make all of these except for the green floral print in the first picture – that came from a new FQ; everything else was scraps…Hooray for scrap buster projects!

pouches outside

pouches lining

IMG_2396

IMG_2397

IMG_2389

IMG_2390

These pouches are remarkably easy…the hardest part is remembering to move the zipper head before cutting the zipper! Yep, I made that mistake and had to trash that zipper! Ha!

I’m not really loving the black & yellow pouch, I think it’s a little too tall…but it can hold two bottles of water, so I guess it can be used for something! I’ve posted the first two on my Etsy page along with the 1 Hour Baskets I made last week…fingers crossed, maybe I can start a little side business 😀

ttfn…

Leave a Reply

