Lots of progress

Last night I finished piecing the top for Grandson #1 blanket. I was planning to go to Hobby Lobby today to look for border and backing fabric but that didn’t work out. Instead I stopped by a local quilt store that I didn’t know was there until just last week! It’s called QBee Quilts and it’s only 20 mins from my house…oh boy, that could spell trouble! LOL

I was out & about with DH today and I asked him to stop so I could check out the store. They’re participating in Row by Row so I wanted to get my free pattern and get their license plate charm. I had expected him to wait in the car but he decided he would come in with me; well, let’s just say that was not a good idea. He was like a kid in a candy store – pointing out all the lovely quilts they had on display, commenting on all the kits and just generally being VERY distracting! While I appreciate his enthusiasm I found it impossible to concentrate on the reason I wanted to stop…so, I told him I would just come back another time. Luckily they’re open on Sunday, so I’ll swing by there tomorrow – ALONE! :p

I spent a little time on Pinterest this morning and decided I would do a primary colors blanket for Grandson #2 using 4.5″ squares. I already had the squares cut from the red & white fabric so I cut the same number from the blue, yellow and planes print fabric; then I set about laying out the pattern. I quickly settled on one and after dinner I retreated to my sewing room to begin piecing it all together – I can’t believe I got it all done tonight!! Woohoo! And I have to say, I’m getting MUCH better at matching seams, yay.

IMG_2457

The way they’re arranged creates a bit of a zigzag with the planes fabric…kind of neat. Now I need to figure out what border and backing fabric to use for this one. I think I’ll look for backing that will match both blankets, but I don’t think the same dark blue border will work on this one because of the dark blue squares…any suggestions?

~~~~~

The weather here has finally cooled off a little bit – there was a line of t-storms earlier that dropped temps almost 15 degrees – yay! This was in the forecast so I planned to hold off running until Sunday morning instead of our normal Saturday morning. K was all for that and she’s going to meet me here at 7:30am; the temp is supposed to be 68 with moderate humidity…it should feel pretty nice 🙂

That’s all for now…G’night!

Leave a Reply

