A break in the weather

We were blessed today with very mild weather and I took advantage of it by spending quite a bit of time outside. First, K and I went running this morning…oh, it felt so good to not get overheated!

We started right around 7:45 and took a route around my neighborhood that’s mostly shady. I downloaded another Podrunner track, this one is 180 bpm – it’s a tad bit fast for me but I was able to keep up with it during most of the run segments. During mile 3 I extended the walk breaks by 30 seconds to catch my breath – all in all, it was a great run and I’ll definitely be using the 180 bpm track again!

6.28.15

After I got cleaned up, I went out to lunch with DH and then I did a little retail therapy. I mentioned yesterday that I was going back to the QBee Quilt Shop to pick up fabric for the borders and backing on the Grandson’s quilts. I was the only customer in the shop so it was great to get a little help finding just the right fabric. We picked out a lovely blue print for Grandson #2 blanket and I got it all cut and pieced tonight…I love it!

Top with border

I also picked up this fabric to use as backing for both quilts; and I’ll have enough left over to use for appliqueing their initial to the front of each quilt.

backing closeup

We also picked out another fabric for the border on Grandson #1 quilt, however once I got it home and laid it out on the quilt – I don’t like it…nope, no way! There’s pale blue on the train which we ‘thought’ would be pulled out by this border but it’s just not happening – so I’ll save these strips for some other project in the future. Now I’m back to square one on what border to use.

IMG_2466

I have some left over dark blue that I used in the other top so I laid it up against this one…and I’m kind of liking it. I think I have just enough to do the border – but that will have to wait until tomorrow. I’m too tired now and I don’t want to make any measuring mistakes! 😉

IMG_2468

That’s all for now…G’night!

2 thoughts on “A break in the weather

Leave a Reply

