Granny Squares done

I’ve been working on my ‘new’ project for the last few nights…of course I still have two others that are waiting to be basted & quilted…SMH! Anyway, those darn Granny Square blocks have just stolen my attention and I simply must finish them 😉

I’ve completed 6 of the monochrome blocks, which measure 15.5″ unfinished and now I’ve decided I’m going to add sashing to match the center on each. I’ve done the math (many, many times) and I should have enough fabric to complete the sashing {{{fingers crossed}}}! This makes the block 19″ unfinished.

I’ve done one block and I really, really like it:

IMG_2523

Here’s where I’m hoping my math skills haven’t failed me – I should have literally just enough to sash the other block that has the same center (of course I’ll need to piece one side – oh please, please work out!). I’m too tired to try it tonight for fear I would make some silly mistake, so I’ll let you know tomorrow how it all goes :p

Once I get all the sashing done, I think I’m going to add a 4″ white sash in the middle of the two rows to make the overall size a little more even (without it, the top would measure 37×55); and then I’ll add a final white border all around. I have absolutely no idea what I’m doing for backing; I’ll wait until the top is done and then I guess I’ll have to go shopping – oh, poor me!

~~~~~~~~~~

No running this week…just too hot & humid, ugh…

That’s all for now…G’night!

One thought on “Granny Squares done

  1. Lookin’ good! I wasn’t too sure about the monochrome when I first looked at what you’ve done – but it’s growing on me, and I think it’ll be very effective with a number of them together. And hey, if it turns out that your maths is just a smidgen off and you don’t have enough fabric, then maybe you could make one block in another colour and call the quilt, “Odd Man Out” or something! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

