Half Marathon training begins

I’ve been following the Zero to 10K program to kick-start my half marathon training and I’ve been doing pretty well. I’ve been able to maintain my average pace for the last few weeks. Now it’s time to jump off that program onto the Half training program.

I’m using a ‘beginners’ plan and if I count backwards from the Half Marathon date of March 5th (Dasani Half in Myrtle Beach), I’m at week 3. Since I ran on Friday, I saved the Saturday run for today. Beginners Half Marathon Training

The weather this morning was a little chilly – it was 39 when I left the house at 10am but thankfully it warmed up to upper 40’s while I was out. I layered up accordingly, started out wearing gloves but had to peel those off around mile 2. Since I haven’t been running anything longer than 3ish miles I haven’t been using any of my GU, but that changed today. I had forgotten how good the Salted Caramel flavor is, it was worth the longer distance!! And it gave me just the kick I needed to finish the last mile.

I programmed my app for 7 reps of 8 min running, 2 min walking which would carry me through 5 miles…and I did pretty good for the first 4 reps. After that I alternated 3 min run, 2 min walk, 3 min run until I hit 5 miles.

The only concern I had today was with my technology…there was a difference in calculation between the c25k app and my Vivofit2. Before I left the house, I mapped out my route using the MayMyRun website so I had an idea where I would finish 5 miles but the Vivofit2 hit that mark earlier than the app…weird, not sure what’s up with that. I kept running until the C25K app hit 5 miles.

Vivofit2

1.3.16 garmin

C25K

1.3.16 rd

~~~~~~~~~~~

I didn’t do any sewing today…after lunch I planted my butt on the couch and watched football for the rest of the day. I have the HST Sampler quilt all ready for some FMQ, I guess I’ll work on that tomorrow 🙂

G’night!

One thought on “Half Marathon training begins

Leave a Reply

