Projects, projects everywhere

With the fowl weather we had over the past weekend I got a lot of sewing done – the problem is I started way too many things and finished nothing!! Now I have projects everywhere, in varying stages and my brain is on overload!

First I pulled out my scraps and decided it would be a great idea to start using up some of these fabrics. I found a pattern I liked in Block magazine by Missouri Quilt Co called Sunny Skies, YouTube video mentioned here. After I pieced a bunch of 4 patches from my blue & yellow scraps I stumbled across a similar, more modern pattern I found on Amanda Rolfe’s YouTube channel called Jacob’s Ladder. My problem: I didn’t have any of the background fabric on hand so I had to stop after making all these patches…(they’re arranged as 16 patches but they’re not sewn together).

IMG_20160121_214137

But look what arrived today…beautiful silver & white to make the HST…not sure when I’ll pick up where I left off.20160128_210306

Since I had to stop making Jacob’s Ladder, I searched my stash for another project I could sew and I found two charm packs I was hoarding for the ‘right time’…eh, yeah why not! One is from Andover called Low Tide and the other is Kona solids called Lush Lagoon…oh my, I could just dive right in!

I arranged the Low Tide squares randomly and then filled in with the Lush Lagoon in an ombre type pattern, lighter at the top – darker at the bottom:

IMG_20160123_210952

This is as far as I got because I’m not sure if I want to add a border and if so…what? Plus I have no idea what I’m going to do for backing…!

Since I couldn’t make anymore progress on the “Low Tide Lagoon” top, why not pull something else out!?! Can you see why I’m going crazy now…?

I found a barely used jelly roll of Kona solids called Fancy Florals and started sewing the strips together in sets of 3, then I cut them in 6 1/2 squares and laid out a split rail pattern. This one is still up on my design wall and I’ve started piecing the squares together – I’ve got the first three rows done:

IMG_20160128_205641

The blocks extend down 9 rows, once I get them all sewn together I’ll be stumped again because I don’t know if I should add a border…there seems to be a theme building here! If you have any suggestions/opinions about a border on this one I’d really appreciate your input 😀

Last but not least, I’ve had the Cozy Afternoon blocks sitting finished for quite a while now because I couldn’t find the right fabrics to finish. Well, that changed last night when I stopped by Hobby Lobby and pick up two beautiful fabrics. Jacquelynne Steves finished hers with a floral fabric and a green fabric, these aren’t exactly like hers but I think they compliment my blocks really well.

20160128_210050

As you can see, I had to lay this out on the floor because my wall is filled with split rail blocks!

And if all that isn’t enough…!!! I’ve signed up for the Splendid Sampler QAL that starts Feb 14. It’s a full year QAL and they’ll be releasing 2 blocks each WEEK…I sure hope I can keep up! I purchased these gorgeous fabrics for that project – Cascade by Jessica Levitt.

20160128_210626

I’m exhausted just detailing all of this…I sure have a lot of work to do!! 😀

ttfn…and… G’night

 

12 thoughts on “Projects, projects everywhere

    1. Thank you! I was online last night looking at fabric and found a lovely sea glass print that would be the perfect backing for Low Tide Lagoon. I don’t want to buy it until I know how big it’s going to be so I’m going to have to make up my mind about a border on that one 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I just came across Amanda Rolfe’s Jacob’s Ladder tutorial two nights ago and bought fabric today to start it as my new project! Not sure what size I’ll end up doing… I may keep it to 36×36 or 36×48 since I’m still a beginner, but I’m really excited about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How funny that quilters seem to have such addictive natures! I think it is a wonderful “disease” and eventually, you will finish the projects. They are all wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha, yes my work sure is cut out for me! I wish I could say I’ve completed all these projects…but alas I have not.

      I’ve made progress on some but nothing is all done. I found the perfect border fabric for Low Tide Lagoon and have it basted with more perfect backing fabric just waiting in line to be quilted. I’ve also finished piecing the rows in the split rail project and I’ve added some corners to the Cozy afternoon blocks…but the Jacob’s Ladder project is still sitting in the corner staring me down. Now I understand how so many UFOs get created!!

      Like

  3. all great projects. I too am going through projects and trying to see what has stalled them and to work them up. feels good when one gets finished for sure! love all your projects.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

