Saturday long run

After I watched the Australian Open Women’s Final yesterday morning (DVR) I went out in the afternoon for my long run. I’m just about 4 weeks away from the Half Marathon so the long runs are getting really long :p  The plan called for 9 miles so I mapped out a route starting from my house that would take me 4.5 miles away…at that point I had no choice but to finish so I could get back home 😉

I changed the intervals on my app back to 3 min run/2 min walk; I figured I would need the extra recovery time as the miles added up. The temps warmed up nicely to the low 50s with a mild breeze; I wore capris, a long sleeve tech shirt and short sleeve tech shirt. I also wore my running jacket because the weather folks said the winds were going to pick up.

As I started the first run segment I was feeling pretty sluggish – I thought I was dragging that car behind me again! I wasn’t able to shake that feeling until I got a good mile in – ugh! But finally I fell into a rhythm and the next few miles seemed to pass without much notice. As I hit the 4 mile mark I ate my Salted Caramel GU and very shortly after that I knew I was going to need to find a bathroom. Luckily the halfway mark was at a local restaurant we frequent so I didn’t feel bad at all taking advantage of their facilities.

As I started back toward home I could feel the second toe on my left foot start to hurt, I’ve had that feeling before and it usually means my toenail was not going to have a good day. I stopped to re-tie my shoes hoping that would help but as I continued on I could tell it was too little, too late. I soldiered on, taking a few extra walk breaks, but I was not going to be defeated! I had several thoughts of calling hubby to come get me around mile 7 – I just kept debating with myself and next thing I knew I was at mile 8. Well, there was no stopping now!!

Bottom line – my legs and lungs held up pretty good, it was my damn toe that almost did me in! LOL  I’m not 100% sure what caused it but I think it may have been my socks. They’re the same brand I’ve been wearing but I just bought a brand new pack and I wore them without washing first. Don’t know if that was it but that’s the only difference I can think of so I’ll be sure to wash all those new socks before my next long run 😉

Since I had that potty break about half way I had to stop my Vivofit2 and restart it when I got going again so I’ve got two entries that don’t quite match up with the C25K app…but you get the gist.

Vivofit2

1.30.16 vivofit2

C25K app

1.30.16 rd

ttfn…and G’night

One thought on “Saturday long run

Leave a Reply

