I’ve been a little silent…

I’ve been working hard in my sewing room trying to finish up a few WIPs (works in progress) and finish designing the memory quilt I’m making for my friend.

I decided I needed to layout all the bricks again with a tan/light background to be really sure that’s the way I wanted to go before I buy more fabric…and I’m SO glad I did.

Here are the two backgrounds side-by-side…

Compare 2.11.16

I had originally thought the lighter background would allow the ‘bricks’ to really stand out but there are quite a few light bricks and I think they get a little lost in the tan background. However, with the burgundy background all the bricks stand out…so that’s the way I’m going.

I’ve also been trying to finish up my Cozy Afternoon quilt. I got the triangle pieces attached and then sewed on the green border…and then – ugh! It just didn’t look right. There needed to be something significant between the center and the borders.

IMG_2958

I took the fabric I had intended to use as binding and cut it into 2.5″ strips, folded them in half and tacked them up to frame the center…ahhhh, much better!!

IMG_2970

I don’t want to remove the light green border pieces because they’re already cut to size so I’m going to ‘applique’ the dark green trim around the center. Not necessarily a conventional idea but I think it will work just fine. Then I’ll need to figure out what to do for binding. I think it needs to be a dark color but I don’t have anymore of the dark green so whatever it is I’ll have to go buy it!

I’m gearing up for The Splendid Sampler QAL that begins 2/14 and runs for a whole year…yikes! They’ve released a sneak peak block and some patterns so of course I had to try them. I didn’t make these with the fabrics I bought specifically for this sampler – I really want to wait for the actual blocks before I cut into them.

Fabric

Instead I used fat quarters from my stash to make them.

Folding Block Station: the block on the inside is the ‘sneak peak’

folding block station

Fabric Bucket:

fabric bucket

Lastly…no running for me this week. The ‘let’s do it tomorrow‘ gremlins have taken a hold of me and won’t let go!!! It doesn’t help that we’re having another cold snap and I just can’t fathom the idea of running 10+ miles on a treadmill…excuses, excuses!!

I’ve got a 10 mile race next weekend, 2/20…this should be interesting, LOL!

ttfn and…G’night

One thought on “I’ve been a little silent…

Leave a Reply

