Finally…

Got my arse in gear and went for a run today. As luck would have it, it was pretty darn cold and windy today…yuck! And I thought of a ‘bi-jillion’ reasons not to run – I even procrastinated until after lunch but finally the thought of my running buddies out there in the cold putting in 20 miles made me feel like a real heel. Hey, whatever works!!

I drove to the area where they would be running hoping to pass them as they were finishing up. My plan called for 11 miles today…yeah, right! I knew the route I was going to follow and if I repeated that twice I would have my 11.

I was pretty well bundled up with multiple layers and I even had some hand warmers I made a few years ago so my digits wouldn’t get too cold. The first few miles weren’t so bad, the sun was shining bright and only when I hit the shady areas did it get a little uncomfortable. I turned around at 2.5 miles and headed back to complete the first loop and that’s when I started feeling like I was dragging a car behind me…ugh. I made sure I ate a granola bar at the 40 min mark but it didn’t seem to help.

I got back to where I started at 5.25 miles – I decided I had had just about enough. I didn’t pass any of my running buddies so I figured they had already finished up and it was starting to feel colder than when I started. I kept running until 6 miles and made my way back to the car. I guess that’s better than nothing!!

2.13.16 vivofit

2.13.16 rd

Next weekend is the Charlotte 10 Miler, we’ll see how that goes; at least the weather is supposed to be a little warmer – yay!

ttfn and… G’night!

5 thoughts on “Finally…

    1. Thanks Paula! I need all the encouragement I can get. I’ve never been a fan of running in the cold – my limit used to be not below 40. But now that I’m doing longer distances it’s either run in the cold or run on the treadmill and for now I’m choosing the cold :-s

      When is your next race?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yeah, for long runs I choose the cold too. :/ And you and I will be racing on the same day, March 5th!! I was going to yell really loud to cheer you on, but you are actually going to be done before I even wake up, I think!! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

