On a star kick

Believe it or not I’ve started another star quilt…I’m calling this one Woven Star because it looks like the legs are intertwined. I pulled this pattern off Pinterest and thought I’d give it a whirl.

I was feeling orange & yellow so these are the fabrics I pulled

fabric pull

I cut 5″ squares for each of the sections and the background…realizing a little too late that I should’ve cut the background squares at 4.5″…duh! Oh well, there was only a little bit of waste. It wasn’t long before I had the HSTs done and the layout up on my design wall.

design wall

From there I started piecing the rows across and then down.

Woven Star center

And now I needed to contemplate the border…should I do scrappy or solid? I chose to go with scrappy so I could use up the remaining FQ pieces however I didn’t have enough to go all the way around so I pulled a couple more ‘orangy’ FQs…and Ta-Da, it’s done!

Woven Star top

It measures 40.5″ square…and I have no idea what I’m going to do for backing and quilting but I’ll figure that out tomorrow.

I still haven’t been to the fabric store to get more yardage for the memory quilt but I have my Weight Watchers meeting tomorrow night and Hobby Lobby is just around the corner…wink, wink!

ttfn…and…G’night!

 

3 thoughts on “On a star kick

Leave a Reply

