Scrappy Jacob’s Ladder

Now that the memory quilt is all finished I want to turn my attention to a few WIPs.

A few months ago I pulled out my scraps and sorted out the blue & yellow. I found two patterns I liked, both very similar, so I started making 4 patches – more details here. I had to let it sit because I didn’t have the background fabric to finish the top (so much for using my stash!). Once I got the fabric I had already started something else (ha, more like many other things) so it’s been sitting idle for a while.

I pulled it last week, put it up on my design wall and started piecing it together. I’ve gotten rows pieced and the last four blocks are made…a few more seams and the main part of the top will be done.

4.26.16 cropped

I’m planning to put a 4″ white border all the way around to make it a little larger but I’m not sure if I should use fabric from my stash for the backing or buy something else…what do you think?

Here are two options I found in my stash

IMG_3115

I’m leaning towards the one on the left because it echos the same colors as the top…but who can refuse those cute little kitties on flannel??

Take a closer lookIMG_3116IMG_3117

Please weigh in with your opinion…Thanks!

Linking up with Let’s Be Social and I May Have a Scrap Problem

 

 

23 thoughts on “Scrappy Jacob’s Ladder

    1. The yellows and blues along with the grey and white look so beautiful together. It’s a lovely way to put those scraps together! I like the fabric choice on the left for your backing. Great job!

      Like

Leave a Reply

