Cannoli 5k

Last week was a bit of a blur for me due to traveling – I get call out of sync when I’m out of my ‘natural habitat’…lol!

It actually started the week before when we went to Myrtle Beach on Thurs thru Sat. I was home all day Sunday and then flew to Columbus, OH for a business meeting on Monday. I returned Wed evening and it took me until yesterday to really feel back in rhythm.

All that said, I didn’t do any of my planned running on Tues or Thurs. Before we went to MB, a few of my running buddies had signed up for a local 5k  on May 21 and urged me sign up…so I did. Even though I hadn’t run during the week I was pretty sure I’d have no problems doing a 5k and this one was supposed to be really fun because it was part of an Italian festival and they were giving away cannolis at every mile!! The other bonus was it didn’t start until 9am…kind of late if you’re used to running organized events at 7am.

The only down side was the weather, we’ve been getting a lot of rain and it’s been coming in bouts of downpours. Once I got up I checked the weather and it looked like we’d be fine for the run. I ate breakfast and headed over to the event to meet up with my buddies. After a quick prayer the horn sounded and we were off. The planned route was actually a 1 mile loop so each time around you could pick up a cannoli – I did it on the first loop and after eating that one I knew I’d waive off the rest. They were only mini but I just didn’t want to take the chance of upsetting my stomach.

I had on my Garmin watch and on the second loop I could tell I was making pretty good time but my legs were also starting to let me know they didn’t appreciate working this hard after being off a whole week. I pressed on and during the last .25 mile I realized I could possibly get a new PR if I really pushed it…so I did…and I did!!

Official race time: 36:54 (sent in email, results are not posted online yet)

Garmin time: 36:49 (the distance is not quite 3.1 so I’ll go with the official race time!)

5.21.16 garmin

I’m pretty surprised I got a new PR – my former best was 37:49…boom!

My next race is the Lake Wylie Splash Dash 10k…it’s all HILLS…ugh! Not looking for any PR there, I just want to finish before they close the course!!

ttfn…

 

9 thoughts on “Cannoli 5k

  1. That is awesome Sharon! Congratulations!! I particularly like where you say, “so I did… and I did!” I love it when a plan works out! That’s too fun about the cannoli, but I don’t know how people can actually eat while running, lol!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

