Summary for the week

I mentioned in my last post that I’ve got a 10k coming up next weekend so I need to get back to running on a regular basis and surprisingly enough I completed 3 runs this week!

The second run on Friday was more of a walk because I was feeling quite creaky and stiff from the run on Wed…but hey, it counts!!

8.12.16 c25k

The third run was this morning. I slept in a little and didn’t leave the house until 8:45…I paid for it with the heat & sunshine. Thankfully I took a route that had lots of shade and I brought 2 bottles of water. I purposely did not look at the weather before I left – I was afraid I’d talk myself out of it if I knew the numbers! But I can tell you it was HOT!

I decided to use a 2 min run/2 min walk interval and that worked out perfectly. I started off running a little slower and I can see I picked up my pace during intervals 4-7. I took an extended walk break through interval 8 and then got back to running the rest until I hit 3 miles. Whew, was I ever happy to hear the c25k lady say that!

8.14.16 c25k

I’m planning to get two more runs in next week – about 2 miles each – and then we’ll see how I do for the 10k on Saturday… wish me luck!!

~~~~~~~~~~~~

On the sewing front, I’ve been quilting on my Christmas quilt – trying all sorts of new free-motion quilt stitches. Since this one is all mine, I’m feeling quite relaxed about doing whatever I want.

First I traced a poinsettia design on all the blocks using a Frixion pen and then free-motion stitched around it…they turned out really great! However, since I used white thread they don’t really show up all that well in photos 😦

IMG_3293

Then I added curved lines in all the red & green fabrics, going from corner to corner – point to point…again hard to see it in the photo. Then I added ‘ribbon candy’ in the sashing strips and I’m working on adding ‘icicle lights’ in some of the other open areas.

IMG_3300IMG_3295

I’d like to get the quilting finished today because I have to work late almost every night next week which means there probably won’t be much time to sew (waaaaaaaaah!) 😦

ttfn…

 

7 thoughts on “Summary for the week

Leave a Reply

