Another month flies by

I’ve been so busy with my day job that I can only squeeze in a little bit of sewing in the evenings and on weekends and I’ve just been too tired to sit down write my blog 😦

I’ll try to catch up on everything that’s been going on since my last post…first up: I have not been running or exercising AT.ALL. double 😦 😦

I signed up for a 10k on 9/11 and there’s just no way I’m going to be able to run it…I’m toying with the idea of not going but the jury is still out at this time.

~~~

On the sewing & quilting front things are going much better…below are the pictures of what I’ve been working on…

I finished my Xmas quilt, label and all…

On the front porch in natural light:

IMG_3320

It fits on top of my king size bed:IMG_3313

A close up of the quilting fresh from the dryer:close up after dryer

Close up of label:

back with label

I finished another quilt top – I couldn’t resist using the fabric in the August Sew Sampler box from Fat Quarter Shop. It’s Sundrops by Corey Yoder and it’s just so happy and bright! This pattern came with the Jolly Bar pack so I went with it!

Start

I wanted the top to be a little bigger than the pattern so I chose not to use the sashing strips and instead added a 4th column using fabric from the July Sew Sampler box – Dixie from Cluck Cluck Sew. It blends beautifully.all pieced

I have the backing all put together and this one is on the list for basting today…along with the Purple Rail Fence quilt seen here. I also started and finished a Postage Stamp top…now this one is a bit modified in that I used wider strips (3.5″) which results in a bigger “postage stamp”…I’m just not into tiny pieces!

I followed the instructions from Sarah at Confessions of a Fabric Addict and within a few short days I had the scrappy top all done!! I used about 35 FQs from my stash and scrap bins so that makes me very happy. I have a few strip squares left over so I might try to incorporate them into the backing…still deciding.

Postage stamp 8.24.16

I took a break from making quilts to make a few pillow covers. I’ve had the batting squares cut for quite some time intending to follow the Quilt-as-you-go class at Craftsy from Maureen Cracknell (it happens to be on sale right now!) ((I have no affiliation)). I made one of these pillows last year and needed a few more to complete the look in my living room so I banged out two more this week:

pillow1pillow2

OK, I think that’s about it for now! If you follow me on Instagram you’ve already seen all this but I like to post here as well to save a record of my work.

Until next time…ttfn!

 

6 thoughts on “Another month flies by

  1. I haven’t been on IG lately, so I’m behind! These are lovely!

    And I say get out there and walk the 10K if you have to. Why not! It’ll be fun!! (Lol, okay I don’t know if that’s true with no training, but it sounds good). If you do decide to do it, good luck and have a great time! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! Those quilts and cushion covers are amazing! 🙂
    For what it’s worth, I reckon you should have a go at the 10K. You can always walk or do a shorter run/walk ratio and treat it as a workout rather than a race – plus, if you’ve paid for it you might as well go along and collect your bling! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

