Run & Ride 10K

Yep, that’s right…I completed a 10k this morning. After not running AT.ALL. for the past 6 weeks I went out with my running buddies and completed at 10k. Now mind you, it wasn’t pretty…and I did A LOT of walking…but I did it šŸ˜€

I had no goal or target – I just wanted to finish. I didn’t wear my Garmin (it needs to be charged anyway!), the only thing I used was the C25K app and I had it programmed for 2 min run/1 min walk intervals.

The weather was pretty decent this morning, a little more humid than I would’ve liked but all in all not bad. The course for the 10K weaved in and around our local amusement park called Carowinds and the entry for the 10K also bought your ticket into the park for the day…not a bad deal!

The 10K started just after 7am so most of the run was over before the sun stared bearing down on us. I did pretty good for the first few miles, following the intervals pretty closely. Once I passed the 3 mile mark I flipped the interval around and started running 1 min and walking for 2. Around mile 4 I felt my IT band start to bother me – I kinda figured that would happen since I haven’t been running. After that, I ran when I could and just walked really fast the rest of the time.

When I got to the 1/2 mile I ran a little more just to ‘get it over with’! and to look good for the pictures…LOL!

They haven’t posted official times yet but I’m pretty pleased with the time on my app…it’s not too, too far off from my normal pace, so I’d say that’s a win!!

9-11-2016-rd

9-11-2016-medal

I’m hoping things at work will start to get back to normal and the temps will start to look like Fall soon…I really, really need to get back into a running routine šŸ˜€

5 thoughts on “Run & Ride 10K

Leave a Reply

