Lots to catch up

It seems I’ve been falling off the blogging wagon…and that’s not the only wagon I’ve fallen off of!! I’m not running and I haven’t been to a WW meeting in a few months…yikes!

But I am still sewing and making quilts!!! Ha! Here are pictures of my latest projects:

Finished the Purple Rail quilt – I did free motion double loops all over.20160917_170539-3

You can see the backing fabric in this shot. I used the left over rail pieces and some larger purple strips for the binding.20160917_170701-2

I wanted to try a new pattern from Yvonne at Quilting Jet Girl called Bundle Buster so I pulled some random fat quarters from my stash and went to town. Not entirely happy with some of the fabric choices but I’m happy it’s done. Next time I’ll use a commercially prepared bundle!!img_3361

I used flannel pieces from my stash for the backing.img_3360

I made an autumn table topper using a free online pattern, it measures 18.5″ square.autumn-table-topper

I’ve finished the top & backing for another pattern I wanted to try. This one came from the book “Schnibbles Times Two” by Carrie Nelson and it’s called Scratch. I’ve got this all basted, now I just need to figure out how I want to quilt it…sometimes that’s the hardest part!

schnibbles-scratch-10-1-16

And I made a pillow to go with my Over-sized Postage stamp quilt. The quilt will be basted tomorrow and I’ll have to figure out how I want to quilt that too!pillow

I’ve also basted the Garden Gate quilt top I finished last month so that makes a total of 3 quilts I’ll have to figure out…I’ll be very busy free-motion quilting this month!!

I think that’s all my projects for now…hopefully I’ll get back on a routine of posting so I don’t have to do so much back-tracking!

ttfn and…G’night!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Lots to catch up

  1. I don’t think I’ve told you this, but when I was a youngin’ (lol), I used to quilt with my grandmother. She’d set the quilt up on blocks, then we would hand stitch the patterns on the material. She’d sew the border on with the machine, of course, but it would take us an entire summer to complete a quilt. When AJ was born, my aunties sent me a special quilt for him with the special hand stitching. (Just sharing, hehe)

    Maybe you’ve not been running, but look at the great stuff you’ve created! Love the purple one! Where is your Etsy store? πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Hey Paula, thank you for sharing that story – what a great memory!! Spending all that time with your grandmother must’ve been wonderful. My grandma didn’t start quilting until they moved to New Mexico so I didn’t get a chance to learn from her. She sent me a quilt for my bed but back then I really couldn’t appreciate all the hand work that went into it but I understand now! I haven’t tried hand quilting because I like the immediate gratification machine stitching provides.

      I haven’t put any of my recent items up in my Etsy store, I was hoping to just sell them through FB and word of mouth (LOL). I would also like to get a table at a local craft fair and see if anything sells. I’m not looking to start a business, just recoup the cost of supplies and a little extra for my time.

      Thank you for your encouragement πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! The maple leaf is on my coffee table and will probably stay there until I pull out xmas decorations. I was afraid of FMQ at first but I created a few test sandwiches and just started playing around. Now I find it very meditative. You should give it a try!

      Like

Leave a Reply

