Progress and luck

So yeah, I haven’t run since I last posted about it…so much for running 2 miles every day! LOL! At some point I will HAVE TO get into some sort of exercise routine…argh…

I am still sewing & quilting away…here are my recent escapades:

I’ve made some progress on the commissioned Ragdoll Cat quilt…up to 12 now, just need 13 more. As I started planning ahead for the sashing and border, I realized I had not purchased enough of the ruby red back ground so I high-tailed it back to Mary Jo’s to buy more from the same bolt – whew…I have plenty now!

12-kittens

DH had minor knee surgery this week so I took off a few days…while he’s been resting and recuperating I’ve been getting stuff done! I’ve had this Tiny Houses quilt basted for weeks now but didn’t know how I wanted to quilt it. I finally decided I would just have fun with FMQ. Each house has it’s own design (I even quilted knobs on each door!) and I did loopy flowers in the border…once I got going it was really fun.

20161117_162719_resized20161117_162641_1479418240801_resized

I wanted to make a table topper for Thanksgiving and found some pictures of a dresden turkey online and just whipped up this little guy. The topper is 18×20 and fits on my coffee table perfectly. Once I posted pictures online I was asked if it was for sale. I told them this one was mine but I could make them another one…and they said Yes! I cranked out a second turkey yesterday and put it in the mail…I didn’t take any pictures but it looks almost identical to this one 😉

turkey

I’ve also been a pretty luck girl lately…I enter many giveaways on IG & FB that I don’t win but I got really lucky with these two prizes.

First, at the beginning of October I won a bundle of “Cheeky Pumpkin” fabric from Fabric Please! out of Canada. It took me a while to figure out what I wanted to do with it and then I found this pattern on Pinterest (what did we ever do before Pinterest!?). I added the rows of tone on tone fabric from my stash…I think that might glow in the dark with a black light!!

I posted the progress pictures on IG and even though it’s not finished I’ve already had a friend ask to buy it! Wow! I’ve ordered backing fabric from Connecting Threads, which should arrive today so maybe I’ll get another finish before I have to go back to work on Monday.

halloween

My second win happened back in July and I’ve been busting at the seams waiting for it to arrive…The 2017 Quilter’s Planner!!! Kitty Wilkin of Night Quilter hosted a giveaway back in July and I was so lucky to win this prize. Of course it didn’t release until earlier this month so I had quite a wait before getting my hands on it. This baby is pretty hefty and has all the usual benefits of a planner with so many extras for quilters. There are dozens of patterns and block designs along with quilting motifs and plenty of space to sketch and plan. I can’t wait for January to get here!! LOL

planner

Last but not least, I made a few book purchases of my own. I’ve had these books on my wish list for months and finally pulled the trigger!

The Quilt Block Cookbook by Amy Gibson (of the Sugar Block club) is everything and more of what I read online…I can’t wait to start making those blocks and quilts.

I bought The Half-Square Triangle book by Jeni Baker for one specific pattern but there are tons of others I want to make as well.

books

I also started quilting on my Cotton+Steel quilt last night and should have it finished later this morning. I’ll post pics when it’s done…ttfn…

9 thoughts on “Progress and luck

  1. I love the rag doll cat quilt and your other cool pieces. I have read the triangle book and I currently have the awesome Block Cookbook from the library. Hope you heal well from your knee procedure (it did not appear to slow down your crafting!)😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the turkey! I’m very interested to hear what you think of the planner. Does it follow the calendar year or is it one where you can fill in the dates and start any time? Would you describe it more as a daily, weekly, or monthly planner? I’ve had my eye on it but haven’t bought it yet.

    Like

    1. The planner is more of a weekly & monthly layout and is already filled in with the dates for the year. I haven’t used a paper planner for a couple of years and I’ve honestly missed it. I’m hoping this planner will help me keep all aspects of my life on track 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

