2016 – it’s a wrap!

Ah, the year is coming to a close and now is the time to look back over the last 12 months and reflect on what was…

My reflections will mostly be photos because of all the pictures I took of my quilting escapades; I’ll try to keep this in some sort of chronological order but my only compass is how I posted to Instagram so let’s get started…

This is a mosaic of all the quilts I finished this year and unless I missed something, there are 29!! The last photo is of the 1st ever trunk show/craft fair I participated in. I thoroughly enjoyed making each of these quilts, especially the ones made for charity. A couple of these were commissioned and a few others were sold after I posted them to social media.

This next group is of the ‘other’ quilted/sewing items I completed – most are table toppers I made for my own coffee table to acknowledge the season or holiday.

I also participated in a couple of other sew along and block of the month events this year (The Splendid Sampler & Sugar Block Club) however those quilts won’t be finished until 2017 so I’ll save all those pics for next year šŸ˜‰

Outside of sewing & quilting there are only a few other highlights. I completed the Dasani Half Marathon in Myrtle Beach on March 5th with a personal best time! I pretty much fell off the running wagon after that but I did still run the 4th of July 4 miler and the Carowinds Run & Ride 10K on Sept 11. My running buddies got me to sign up for our annual 4 miler on Super Bowl Sunday morning so I guess I know what I’ll be doing for the next few weeks!

We usually try to take at least one long vacation each year but that didn’t happen in 2016 because we don’t have anyone to watch our fur baby while we’re away and NO I will not board her! The friends that used to watch her are no longer able due to health reasons so unless we fly a friend in from Maryland I guess we’ll be staying put šŸ˜‰

We took a big step in 2016 and purchased a lot of land in Myrtle Beach. We’ve begun the process of working with a builder and our hope is to have a new house and relocate by end of summer 2017!!

Well that just about sums up 2016…here’s to another happy, quilty year in 2017!!

ttfn

 

4 thoughts on “2016 – it’s a wrap!

Leave a Reply

