First finish of 2017

As I type this I’m still a bit stunned by all the top seeds that have been knocked out of the Australian Open…WOW! First Novak Djokovic loses in the second round and now Andy Murray falls. I tried so hard to stay up and watch the match but because of the time difference I shut the TV off at 1 a.m. and they had only finished two sets. I knew Zverev was playing well but I truly thought Andy would figure it out… alas, it was not to be.

The other top seed that fell while I slept was Angie Kerber! Coco Vandeweghe has been on fire recently and I had a feeling it was going to be a good match…but looking at the score it appears she steam-roller her. I’ll try to catch both of these matches on replay today. The AO title is up for grabs this year as both defending champs are out…this should be interesting.

~~~~~~~~~

I have my first quilty finish of 2017…The Kittens is bound and headed for the wash, it will be on it’s way to it’s new home tomorrow. YAY!!! This quilt took me much longer than it should have but I’m immensely pleased with how it turned out. Here are some pictures before washing.

(sorry they’re a little blurry 😦  couldn’t get DH to stand still)

kittens-front-v2kittens-back-v2

Next on the agenda is a Dog Gone Cute quilt. This is for the same person who commissioned The Kittens for her MIL – but the doggie quilt is for her to keep.

I received another commission last week for a t-shirt/memory quilt from one of my neighbors. She’s saved her daughter’s favorite clothes over the last many years which I’ll be making into a quilt for her 10th birthday in Sept – so I have lots of time 😉  I’ve already purchased the backing fabric – Sew Hope Full – in both white and black, I’ll figure out which one works best when I get to that point.

I’ve been keeping up with the Cookbook Quilt along – here’s a shot of the first three blocks. I’m using all Kona solids for this project and I really love how it looks so far!

first-3

I had another small finish this week from the APQ UFO challenge – this technically wasn’t an ‘unfinished object’ because I hadn’t ever started it but it’s been on my ‘to make list’ for a while so I added it to this challenge. January’s number was 6 and this got made – it’s the Charlotte, NC skyline pattern by Shannon Brinkley. I chose to make the small wall hanging size which measures 14×9 and I tried to use Carolina Panther colors. As you can see I had a little trouble keeping some of the buildings straight…I will definitely make this again in a larger size.

charlotte-skyline

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lastly, I’ve been doing well with C25K – I completed the first two days of Week 3 during the week and saved Day 3 for today after lunch…

c25k-1-22-17

That’s all for now…Go Packers, Go Patriots!

2 thoughts on “First finish of 2017

    1. Thanks!! I debated joining too, I finished the 2016 blocks but haven’t assembled the quilt yet. This year its a weekly challenge and I struggled to make it halfway through the Splendid Sampler. Hopefully the solids will keep me going 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

