Charity sewing

I’ve been doing more charity sewing this week. First up I finished two Busy Bags for the sew-along…now I just need to get them mailed out! This sew along is going on the whole month of May so there’s still time to join in for a good cause.

Bag #1

I found these fabrics in my stash and thought they’d make a cute bag for a little boy.

bb1

A look inside…bb1in

Bag #2

I found these two fabrics on the clearance rack and scooped them up just for this purpose. The lining fabric is from my stash.

bb2

Inside…bb2in

Next up is my first finish for the Hands2Help challenge that is finishing up next week – talk about getting in under the wire! I quilted this with large ‘l-shaped’ loops in each rectangle and carried that same motif to the border. This was a lot harder to do on the machine than it was in my head!

This picture shows off the quilting…

scrappy1quilting

And here are a few shots after I put on the binding…scrappy1done

I used a bunch of random fat quarters to make a scrappy backscrappy1back2scrappy1back1

I still have 2 more quilts I want to finish for this event so I’ve actually taken a few days off from my ‘day job’ next week to hunker down and get ‘er done!

In other news…I finished the commissioned t-shirt/memories quilt. I’m really happy with how this turned out and the backing fabric is perfect for a little girl 🙂 Her mother will be giving it to her later this year on her 10th birthday.

tshirt completedtshirt with back

And in case you haven’t heard, there’s a new rage out over the Instant Pot – it’s basically an electric pressure cooker. I have several of the old-style that are used on the stove top but since we have a glass top range we haven’t used them anymore. I waited and waited to buy one until I knew enough people that owned one and still used it…and then I jumped in, thanks Amazon!

ip

I haven’t actually cooked anything yet – lol – I need to get to the store and buy a roast or two.

Lastly, I took a break from my current projects and pulled together all the Cookbook SAL blocks I’d made. I had enough for a lap size quilt so I’m calling this one ‘done’. The SAL is supposed to go on all year but I’ve lost my steam, so I put these up on the design wall and this layout just kind of came to me organically. I had plenty of Kona Snow for the background and before I knew it I had a top! It’s going to need to wait in line to be quilted behind the H2H quilts as they have a deadline!

cbtop

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

No running this week, which is a shame because the 5k I committed to is next Saturday – ugh!! Hey, I guess I can walk it if I have to :-p

That’s all from here…what’s going on in your neck of the woods?

4 thoughts on “Charity sewing

Leave a Reply

