So, I did a thing…

A quick Sammie update before I get started – she’s doing just fine and was back to her old self in no time!!! Thank you all for your well wishes! She gets her stitches out tomorrow so I’m sure that won’t make her happy. The Vet called last week to let me know the outcome of the pathology of the suspicious spot. It was Melanoma but she said it’s different in dogs, it can be benign and Sammie’s is benign!! Yay!! I’m so grateful ❤

~~~~~

“So, I did a thing”…that saying has been popping up all over social media lately so I thought I’d join the fun. I’ve been wanting to get an Accuquilt cutter machine for many, many months now to help with all the fabric cutting I do making quilts. It’s very expensive (imho) so I’ve had it on my favorites list waiting for a sale, which doesn’t happen often.

Well, lo and behold, I’m reading Katy’s blog last week and she drops a little line near the end that Accuquilt is having a sale (sorry, the sale is over now 😦 ) and she provided a link…of course I clicked through. To my pleasant surprise, the sale was $50 off regular price!!!! Woo hoo! Of course, I snatched it right up!! It comes with a starter cutting die kit too!

accuquiltgo

Since I was saving so much money I looked at the other cutting dies, which were also on sale, and found one in the size I usually cut most of my scraps (2.5×4.5). Oh my, this is going to save me SO.MUCH.TIME!

cutterdie

As I mentioned in my last post, we were going to Myrtle Beach this weekend and wouldn’t you know it – I got the shipment notice on my new cutter and it was scheduled for Saturday 😮 I asked a neighbor if they would watch for the delivery and take it in for me so it didn’t sit on our front porch until we got back. But then to my surprise, Fedex shows up Friday afternoon with the delivery!! Yay! You get one guess what I did Friday night 😉 lol

I pulled out the scrap bin specifically set aside for the 2.5×4.5 rectangles and blew through them in no time – wow!! Now I just need to make sure I don’t get tennis elbow from all the cranking…hahaha!

scrapbin
This bin already had some hand cut pieces in it…but I doubled that amount Friday night with my new cutter!

~~~~~

We got up Saturday morning to leave for Myrtle Beach but both me & my husband just didn’t feel up to it, so we pulled the plug on the trip. There was no specific reason we had to go, just wanted to see the progress on the house with our own eyes instead of through pictures from our friends…but there’s always next weekend!

Since I had the weekend free and I received all the fabric I needed to work on my niece’s baby blankets, I made one of the receiving blankets she requested and I basted the crib quilt. I’m going to do echo quilting along the seams so the fabric will stay nice and fluffy. I also made progress on the Clemson tshirt quilt, only one more section to piece and then I can put the whole top together.

recvgblanket
Receiving blanket – Pink & White Chevron Flannel with Gray Minky Dot
tshirtprogress
lower right section still to be trimmed and pieced

~~~~~

I’ve stopped doing Yoga everyday…my wrists were really starting to bother me and the only new thing I was doing was Yoga. Hmmm, I’ll have to see if this is a known issue – I really liked how I was feeling otherwise so it’s a shame I had to stop 😦

~~~~~

That’s all for now…I’m headed back to the sewing room to start quilting on that baby quilt…ttfn!

 

 

One thought on “So, I did a thing…

Leave a Reply

