Weekly summary…

Lots of sewing and quilting going on here!

First up: As I’ve mentioned before, Sarah of Confessions of a Fabric Addict is hosting Hands2Help again this year and there’s still plenty of time to join in the fun! I’ve had my leaders/enders sitting around for quite some time and they were supposed to get addressed back in February when the APQ UFO Challenge pulled #8 but, ahem…nope. So, I decided to pull them together and use them for the H2H event.

At first I was going to sew them all together for one rather large quilt but Sarah suggested I could make two smaller quilts and double my donation…BRILLIANT! This first picture is when I tried to get them all up on my design wall – ha! I couldn’t even get it all in the pic and I still had two more vertical rows to add to the left.

big scrappy

Once I decided to make two quilts, I divided them up and chose border fabric. This beautiful teal green is left over from a 8 yard purchase from a Craftsy sale – I think it adds a bit of a masculine touch (eh, maybe?). This now measures 61×65 and is ready for quilting.scrappy1

And for the second quilt I chose a light purple border, this definitely has a more feminine vibe – it also measures 61×65. I’ve got lots of quilting in my future!! LOLscrappy2

I also finished up my MQG Fabric Challenge using Creative Rockstar from Riley Blake. I put the finishing touches on the quilting and binding yesterday – took pictures and submitted it for consideration! This is the first time I’ve ever submitted any of my work – I’m both excited and very nervous!!

I titled this “Go Your Own Way” after the Fleetwood Mac song and that’s exactly what I did with the design and the FMQ…I stitched whatever I was feeling at the moment!

It’s a mini size quilt measuring 30″ square…no idea what I’ll do with this but it does look kinda good on my dining room table!

goyourownway1gyowquiltinggyowindoors

Along with all the charity tops that need to be quilted I’ve taken on a friend’s request to quilt a gift she made for her grandson’s college graduation. I’ll share pictures once I get started but I’m a little nervous because we chose a quilting design I’ve never done before…I call it meandering squares…looks kinda like this (not my drawing):

squaremeader

I’ll need to practice on paper and on a practice sandwich before I put needle to quilt!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I strained a muscle in my back earlier this week (ironically while I was exercising!) so that limited my movement for a few days…needless to say, no running again this week 😦 I tried to do a little bit of exercise each day by pulling up a ‘walk at home’ video on YT. I couldn’t do some of the twisting moves but I got through the rest ok…at least I was moving, right?!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Still going strong with my bullet journal (bujo), I start and end my day by reviewing what needs to get done in the morning and in the evening I check off what I completed and make a list for the next day. It’s really keeping me motivated!

As you can see I didn’t get much ‘strength training’ in after straining my back but I was able to keep up with very light cardio 😉 Love how my rainbow is coming together but I gotta do better with the bottom half, lol

[sorry about the blurry pic]

aprilt

Next week’s spread is ready to be filled in…nextwk

That’s it for now…what’s going on in your world??

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Weekly summary…

  1. What a great scrap pattern (I will definitely put that on my list). The mini looks great too. Get better so you can sew more! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great idea to make two smaller quilts with different borders! It always amazes me how the border so strongly influences the overall color scheme. And yes, that teal definitely makes the first quilt a bit manly 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment