HST Sampler done!

I put the finishing touches on the binding this evening and I’m calling this done (save for the label)!

I made this quilt following along with Amanda at 3and3quarters who started the QAL back in October. This is my second quilt made with Amanda – I just love her designs and her teaching style is easy to follow, never intimidating.

I purchased a layer cake of Michael Miller Happy Dots from Missouri Quilt Co and used Kona White from my stash for the background. When I was almost done making all the blocks I bought the backing and the binding fabric from 5bucksayard.com. She offers good quality fabric at very reasonable prices (as the name states).

I’m just so tickled with how this turned out!! I did free motion stippling in the blocks and used a straight stitch on the sashing and borders to create a frame for each block (thanks for that suggestion Amanda!). I decided to cut the binding on the bias to add a bit of movement on the edges…this was quite nerve wracking as it was my first time cutting & sewing with bias binding but I think it worked out very well.

IMG_2941

IMG_2942

IMG_2939

IMG_2940

Now I just need to decide if I’m keeping this one or offering it for sale…either way this definitely gives me confidence to pull out one of my unfinished ‘sandwiches’ and do more free motion quilting…weeeeee!

ttfn and…G’night

8 thoughts on “HST Sampler done!

  1. Your quilt is beautiful Sharon! I’m so glad you enjoyed sewing along with me! Well done on making your first proper bias binding as well – it can be quite tricky the first time round! The stripe is a fab contrast to all of those darling spotty fabrics! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I procrastinated several days before cutting the bias binding and I must have watched 10 different how-to videos before I finally started. I’m glad it turned out well, maybe I won’t be so afraid next time…LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This turned out very pretty and modern 🙂 I really like the straight line quilting you did around the border and sashing. The frame effect really stands out for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment